Why DON’T we rise up?

If we want to change the world, fine. But either we force the issue out into the streets, or it’s not going to happen.

Prog Chik

Bernie Sanders’ campaign has gotten me excited. He has progressives–and non-progressives, who see our country isn’t working in their economic self-interest–rallying around him like I’ve never seen before. As someone who’s been struggling post-recession to pull myself up by my bootstraps, Sanders appeals to me. By American standards, he’s way left of center–hell, left of left–proudly anti-establishment, and, as an added bonus, steadfast and authentic. BUT, although I find Bernie Sanders appealing as a politician, there’s another reason I’m excited: for the first time in my life, we’re on the verge of a social movement.

Bernie Sanders campaign slogan: "oligarchy response team"

I’ve been waiting for a movement like this since my early 20’s, way back when George W. was president. Not to undermine the quest for LGBTI rights–or the ongoing struggles for equality for women and people of color –but the only thing close to civil disobedience in my lifetime was Occupy Wall Street.

I was at the nation’s Capitol in 2003…

View original post 464 more words

Leave a Reply

